• Glo Getter
  • Posts
  • Lessons From My Japan Trip (Part I)

Lessons From My Japan Trip (Part I)

You Can't Out-Care A Bad Diet

Hello! It’s your skincare obsessed bestie. It’s been a while since we caught up, but I am thrilled to let you know that I am back now, brimming with inspiration from an incredible trip to Japan! Here is a sneak peek at what’s in store this week.

  • ICYMI: news, trends, and things to chat about over brunch

  • WAY TO GLO: authentic skincare secrets

  • GLO ABOVE+BEYOND: beauty and skincare recipes

  • GLOSSIP: sales events you won’t want to miss

ICYMI

WAY TO GLO!

Ah, Japan! The mere mention of this captivating country conjures images of ancient temples, bustling city streets, and, of course, mouthwatering cuisine. But it was the dairy products that took center stage on my trip this time. Japan, and more specifically, the northern island of Hokkaido, is renowned for its rich, creamy delights. I'm talking about velvety soft serves, pillowy pancakes, and all sorts of cheesy treats that left me weak in the knees.

Vanilla soft serve from a dessert shop called Sapporo School of Agriculture

And there it was. Somewhere along my decadent gastronomic adventure, my skin decided to wage war against me. It was as if a legion of angry pimples had launched an all-out assault on my face, turning my once-flawless complexion into a battlefield of redness and irritation.

Soft serve from Kitakaro

Why was my skin rebelling against me? My journey of self-discovery led me down a rabbit hole of research, where I stumbled upon an eye-opening revelation.

As it turns out, dairy is a major culprit when it comes to hormonal imbalances and inflammation. Those two things combined can seriously wreak havoc on your skin. 

Breakout Culprit #1 — IGF-1: This hormone plays a pivotal role in stimulating cell growth, including within our skin's oil glands. Unfortunately, elevated levels of IGF-1 have been associated with heightened sebum production and the occurrence of acne breakouts.

Breakout Culprit #2 — Androgens: These are male sex hormones that are not only naturally present in our bodies but can also be found in dairy products. The presence of androgens can have an impact on sebum production, potentially leading to clogged pores and acne breakouts, particularly for certain individuals.

Breakout Culprit #3 — Lactose + Casein: These substances are commonly found in dairy products. Consuming lactose and casein has been associated with inflammation, which plays a significant role in the development of various skin conditions such as acne, eczema, and rosacea.

As my time in Japan drew to a close, I bid farewell to Hokkaido's dairy kingdom with mixed emotions. Yes, I had an unforgettable time filled with incredible flavors and breathtaking sights, but my skin had paid the price. It was a humbling reminder that even the most diligent skincare routine cannot outscore a bad diet.

So, if you ever get a bad breakout, look no further than what’s in your plate.

Rokkatei Confectionary

Like this stuff? It would make my day if you can share with your friends and family! Your support is the best kind of motivation 😃 😃 😃 😃

GLO ABOVE+BEYOND

During my stay in Japan, I stumbled upon a remarkable beauty hack: miso soup. Much like the beloved steak and potatoes in American culture, miso holds a comparable significance in Japanese cuisine. It graces the table with every meal, and the connection between this culinary tradition and the Japanese people's enviable skin is hard to overlook.

But there's more to this delicious dish than meets the eye. Miso, the star ingredient, contains phytonutrients that act as powerful antioxidants, shielding the skin from the damaging effects of free radicals that contribute to signs of aging. Not stopping there, miso also boasts a generous amount of linoleic acid—a key player in maintaining the skin's natural water permeability barrier and enhancing hydration.

It’s remarkable how a simple element of Japanese cuisine can have such positive effects on the body. Incorporating miso into your diet may be an excellent and delicious addition to your beauty regimen.

Miso Soup

  • Prep + cook time: 15 mins

  • 4 cups vegetable broth (or Kombu dashi for more traditional miso soup)

  • 1 sheet seaweed nori

  • 3-4 Tbsp white or yellow miso paste

  • ½ cup chopped green chard or other sturdy green

  • ½ cup chopped green onion

  • ¼ cup firm tofu (cubed, use silken tofu for more traditional miso soup)

Instructions:

  • Place vegetable broth in a medium saucepan and bring to a low simmer.

  • Place miso into a small bowl, add a little hot water and whisk until smooth. Set aside.

  • Add chard, green onion, and tofu to broth and cook for 5 minutes. Then add seaweed nori and stir. Remove from heat, add miso mixture, and stir to combine.

GLOSSIP

That’s it for today friends! Will see you again next week~